Steve Hunt Elected President of The Glendale Historical Society


(GLENDALE, CA) August 23, 2018 … The Glendale Historical Society (TGHS) has elected long-time Glendale resident Steve Hunt to be its President for the 2018-2019 year. Hunt, who served as Treasurer for the past two years, replaces Greg Grammer, who stepped down as President after seven years. Joining Hunt as TGHS officers for 2018-2019 are Catherine Jurca, Vice President, Preservation Advocacy; Derek Catao, Vice President, Outreach; Andrew Allison, Secretary; and Zara Rostomian, Treasurer.

“I look forward to ensuring that The Glendale Historical Society continues to celebrate and preserve Glendale’s rich and diverse history and architectural heritage to enhance the community today and in future generations,” Hunt declared.

“Increasing the number of historic districts and landmark designations, presenting top-notch tours and special events to showcase Glendale’s treasured architecture, enhancing the Doctors House Museum and growing our membership will also continue to be top priorities,” added Hunt.

Hunt has a wealth of volunteer experience. He was involved in the Glendale Jaycees for 10 years and was chairman of the Days of the Verdugos Parade and the committee that created the Days of the Verdugos Association. He currently is a volunteer at Glendale Memorial Hospital and Treasurer of the Altadena Senior Men’s Golf Club. Born in Pasadena, his family moved in 1947 to Glendale, where Hunt went through the school system, graduating from Hoover High, followed by Occidental College. In 1963, he and his wife married and, after two years in Eagle Rock, moved back to Glendale, where he has remained since. He was elected to the TGHS Board of Directors in 2015 and named Treasurer in 2016. During his time on the TGHS Board, Hunt has spearheaded many new fundraising activities, organized tours in partnership with Forest Lawn Memorial Park and initiated restoration projects at the Doctors House Museum.

In addition to the officers and Grammer the other members of the Board of Directors for 2018-2019 are Lilian Balasanian, Laura Crook, Robert Gordon, Marcia Hanford and Joemy Wilson.